American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
For Immediate Release Apr 25, 2012

AMSSM Installs New Leadership

ATLANTA, Ga. – The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine announced its new Board of Directors and Officers during the 21st Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Ga. on April 24, 2012.

Dr. Jonathan Drezner, MD, Associate Professor at the University of Washington, became the 19th President of the organization, assuming the leadership position served over the last year by Cindy Chang, MD who will continue to serve the organization as immediate past president.

John DiFiori, MD, Associate Professor at UCLA, was named 1st Vice-President; Chris Madden, MD of Longmont, Colorado was elected as 2nd vice-president; and Katherine Dec, MD of Richmond, Va., continues as the Secretary/Treasurer of the organization.

Chad Asplund, MD of Fort Gordon, Ga.; Anthony Beutler, MD of Bethesda, Md.; Neeru Jayanthi, MD of Chicago, Ill.; and Verle Valentine, MD of Sioux Falls, S.D. were installed as new members on the Board of Directors. Matt Gammons, MD of Rutland, Vt.; and Mark Stovak, MD of Wichita, Kan., and were re-elected to a second term on the board.

AMSSM is a multi-disciplinary organization of sports medicine physicians whose members are dedicated to education, research, advocacy, and the care of athletes of all ages. Founded in 1991, the AMSSM is now comprised of more than 2,000 sports medicine physicians whose goal is to provide a link between the rapidly expanding core of knowledge related to sports medicine and its application to patients in a clinical setting.

NOTE: For more information, please contact the AMSSM, 4000 W. 114th St., Suite 100, Leawood, KS 66211, (913) 327-1415.

© The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
4000 W. 114th Street, Suite 100
Leawood, KS 66211
Phone: 913.327.1415

Website created by the computer geek