American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
For Immediate Release Apr 21, 2013

AMSSM Announces 2013 Award Winners at 22nd Annual Meeting

San Diego, CA – The American Medical Society presented the following awards on Saturday, April 20, 2013, at its 22nd annual meeting in San Diego, Calif.

  • Founder's Award - Warren Howe, MD
  • Harry Galanty Young Investigator Award - Brett Toresdahl, MD
  • Best Overall Case Awards - Jordan Raugust, MD & Kathy Vidlock, MD
  • Best Overall Research Award - Anthony Beutler, MD
  • NCAA Research Award - Daniel Herman, MD
  • Inaugural AMSSM President's Award - Eve Becker-Doyle, CAE, former executive director of NATA
  • Resident Scholarship Winners: Cheri Blauwet, MD; John Lucas, MD; Drew Watson, MD, MS; and Nate Waibel, MD.

About the AMSSM Annual Meeting: The conference features lectures and research addressing the most challenging topics in sports medicine today including prevention of sudden cardiac death, concussion, biologic therapies and other issues facing the field of sports medicine. More than 1,500 sports medicine physicians from across the United States and 10 countries around the world attended the meeting.

About the AMSSM: The AMSSM is a multi-disciplinary organization of sports medicine physicians whose members are dedicated to education, research, advocacy, and the care of athletes of all ages. Founded in 1991, the AMSSM now comprises more than 2,300 sports medicine physicians whose goal is to provide a link between the rapidly expanding core of knowledge related to sports medicine and its application to patients in a clinical setting.

NOTE: For more information, please contact the AMSSM, 4000 W. 114th St., Suite 100, Leawood, KS 66211, (913) 327-1415.

© The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
4000 W. 114th Street, Suite 100
Leawood, KS 66211
Phone: 913.327.1415

Website created by the computer geek