American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
For Immediate Release May 03, 2023

2023 Award Winners Announced at 32nd AMSSM Annual Meeting

The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine presented the following awards during its Annual Meeting on May 2, 2023, in Phoenix, AZ.

Best Overall Research Award – Andrew Watson, MD, MS – Race and Socioeconomic Status Influence the Benefits of Returning to Sports During COVID-19

Harry Galanty Young Investigator Award – Nelson Boland, MD – Sleep Extension and Consistency Improve Athletic Performance in NCAA Division I Collegiate Athletes

The Harry L. Galanty, MD Young Investigator's Award is presented at the Annual Meeting for the most outstanding research presentation by a member who is a sports medicine fellow or who has recently completed fellowship training. The award was established in 2003 to honor Harry Galanty, MD, a charter member of the AMSSM, who passed away in 1999 at the age 36. Dr. Galanty’s contributions to sports medicine combined service and a commitment to teaching and research.

NCAA Research Award – Sherilyn DeStefano, MD – Screening College Athletes for Sexual Violence: Current Trends and Athletes' Opinions on Best Practices

The NCAA Award for best research presentation addresses the health and safety issues of college athletes.

Community Advocacy Award – Rock Vomer DO, DPT, and Emma York, DO, for implementing a specialty clinic that provides free physical therapy, osteopathic manual therapy, and sports medicine services to an underserved and uninsured patient population

Best Overall Case Presentations

  • Rib Pain in a Runner by Stephanie Clark, DO, MS
  • Compressed for Time by Jacob Holtz, DO

Resident Scholarship Award Winners

  • Brian Cervoni-Rosario, MD
  • Kuntal Chowdhary, MD
  • Zainab Shirazi, MD
  • Jeremy Swisher, MD
  • Lauren Wichman, MD
  • Tiana Symone Woolridge, MD, MPH

South Bend/Notre Dame Resident Scholarship Winners

  • Justin Chu, MD
  • Shanterian King, DO
  • Katherine Wainwright, MD, MSc
  • Gage Williamson, DO

Galen Medical Student Scholarship Award Winners

  • Robert Hair, BS
  • Constantine Nicolozakes, PhD
  • Prem Thirunagari BS, BSHS

Jason Davenport Memorial Scholarship Award

  • Lyndsey Booker, MD
  • Beatrice Caballero, MD
  • Onyinyechi Chidomere, MD
  • Daniel Givner, BS
  • Shane Hervey, MD

Agostini Medical Student Community Outreach Grant

  • Micah Furr, BS
  • Elver Ho, BA
  • Andrew Nowak, JD
  • Samuel Zverev, BS/Zachary Tenner, BA   

NOTE: For more information, please contact the AMSSM, 4000 W. 114th St., Suite 100, Leawood, KS 66211, (913) 327-1415.

© The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
4000 W. 114th Street, Suite 100
Leawood, KS 66211
Phone: 913.327.1415

Website created by the computer geek