American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
For Immediate Release Apr 18, 2021

2021 Award Winners Announced at 30th AMSSM Annual Meeting

The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine presented the following awards during its 30th Annual Meeting on April 17, 2021.

Best Overall Research Award – Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu, MD, MPH – The Athletes Rights Survey: A Step Towards Intentional Injury (Abuse) Prevention In Sport

Harry Galanty Young Investigator Award – Ashley Austin, MD – Sudden Cardiac Arrest in Adolescent Male Basketball Players: Survival Outcomes at School-Sponsored Versus AAU/Select Events

The Harry L. Galanty, MD Young Investigator's Award is presented at the Annual Meeting for the most outstanding research presentation by a member who is a sports medicine fellow or who has recently completed fellowship training. The award was established in 2003 to honor Harry Galanty, MD, a charter member of the AMSSM, who passed away in 1999 at the age 36. Dr. Galanty’s contributions to sports medicine combined service and a commitment to teaching and research.

NCAA Research Award – Nicole Katz, BS - Collegiate Athletes with Female Athlete Triad Risk Factors Are At A Greater Risk Of Trabecular-Rich Bone Stress Injuries

The NCAA Award for best research presentation addresses the health and safety issues of college athletes.

Best Overall Case Presentations

  • Stephanie Carey, MD, MPH – Numbness, Tingling And Pain, Oh My: Unexpected Etiology Of Leg Pain In A Football Player
  • Connor Mitrovich, DO – Post-traumatic Blurry Vision In A Highly Competitive Soccer Player

Resident Scholarship Award Winners

  • Joseph Benert, MD
  • Emma Cronk, MD
  • Will Hollabaugh, MD
  • Matt LaCourse, MD
  • Leina'ala Song, MD
  • Sara Walker, MD, MS

South Bend/Notre Dame Resident Scholarship Awards

  • Brian Atkinson, MD
  • Christina Pedro, MD, MBA
  • Justin Reed, MD
  • Rock Vomer, DO, DPT

Galen Medical Student Scholarship Awards                       

  • Brittany Ammerman, MBS
  • Nicole Katz, BS
  • Eileen Storey, BA

Jason Davenport Memorial Scholarship Awards

  • Marisa Jayakar, MD
  • Alberto Oseguera, MD

NOTE: For more information, please contact the AMSSM, 4000 W. 114th St., Suite 100, Leawood, KS 66211, (913) 327-1415.

© The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
4000 W. 114th Street, Suite 100
Leawood, KS 66211
Phone: 913.327.1415

Website created by the computer geek