American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
For Immediate Release Apr 30, 2014

2014 Award Winners Announced at 23rd AMSSM Annual Meeting

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) presented the following awards during its 23rd Annual Meeting at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans from April 5-9, 2014.

Founders’ Award – Margot Putukian, MD
The award is the highest honor given to an AMSSM member and is bestowed when AMSSM leadership determines that a member exemplifies the best that a sports medicine physician can be and do.

Harry Galanty Young Investigator Award – Drew Watson, MD, MS, for his research titled, In Non-obese Children, Fitness and BMI, But Not Body Fat Percentage, Are Independent Predictors of Fasting Insulin.

The Harry L. Galanty, MD Young Investigator's Award is presented at the Annual Meeting for the most outstanding research presentation by a member who is a sports medicine fellow or who has recently completed fellowship training. The award was established in 2003 to honor Harry Galanty, MD, a charter member of the AMSSM, who passed away in 1999 at the age 36.  Dr. Galanty’s contributions to sports medicine combined service and a commitment to teaching and research.

NCAA Research Award- Christopher Hogrefe, MD for his research titled Longitudinal Improvement in BESS Scores Among NCAA Division- 1 Football Athletes.

Best Overall Case Award – Robert Stevens, DO for his case titled Headache After Vigorous Exercise.
Stephen Almasi, MD, MS, for his case titled, Rocky Mountain Cry.

Best Overall Research Award – Nathaniel Nye, MD for his research titled, Does Abdominal Circumference of Body Mass Index Better Predict Lower Extremity Injury Risk?

Resident Scholarship Award –   Michael Baria, MD, MBA

Drew Duerson, MD

Brian Kim, MD, MS

Caitlyn Mooney, MD

Michelle Napoli, MD

Joshua Sole, MD

About the AMSSM Annual Meeting: More than 1,400 sports medicine physicians from the United States and abroad came together to address advances and challenges in sports medicine through lectures and research. Learn more at

About the AMSSM: AMSSM is a multi-disciplinary organization of 2,500 sports medicine physicians dedicated to education, research, advocacy and the care of athletes of all ages. The majority of AMSSM members are primary care physicians with fellowship training and added qualification in sports medicine who then combine their practice of sports medicine with their primary specialty. AMSSM includes members who specialize solely in non-surgical sports medicine and serve as team physicians at the youth level, NCAA, NFL, MLB, NBA, WNBA, MLS and NHL, as well as with Olympic teams. By nature of their training and experience, sports medicine physicians are ideally suited to provide comprehensive medical care for athletes, sports teams or active individuals who are simply looking to maintain a healthy lifestyle.


NOTE: For more information, please contact the AMSSM, 4000 W. 114th St., Suite 100, Leawood, KS 66211, (913) 327-1415.

© The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine
4000 W. 114th Street, Suite 100
Leawood, KS 66211
Phone: 913.327.1415

Website created by the computer geek